Maintaining Your Certifications

Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) Program

Maintaining your PMI certification is a significant competitive advantage. It keeps you relevant and helps you better position yourself as the answer to what companies demand.

Recently, PMI updated the program to include more emphasis on employer-demanded skills as outlined in the PMI Talent TriangleTM. This provides the guidance you need to stay relevant and competitive in the profession.

To stay certified, you need to participate in professional development activities, and earn and report professional development units (PDUs.)

Discover ways to earn PDUs or report earned PDUs.

Certification-Specific Requirements

Every certification except the CAPM® requires you to earn a specific amount of PDUs per three-year certification cycle. The requirements differ for each certification, so check the handbook to find out more. For the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)®, you’ll need to retake the exam before the end of your five-year certification cycle.

Report PDUs

Visit our online Continuing Certification Renewal System (CCRS) to report PDUs and view your certification records.


Have questions about maintaining your certifications? Read about PDUs, the CCR program, and more.

Frequently Asked Questions

3-year cycles
60 PDUs per cycle

Project Management Professional

Portfolio Management Professional

Program Management Professional

PMI Professional in Business Analysis

3-year cycles
30 PDUs per cycle

PMI Agile Certified Practitioner

PMI Scheduling Professional

PMI Risk Management Professional

© 2019 PMI North Sask Chapter. All Rights Reserved. Designed By Proteon Software.